Take Two, Day 11: Fandom Formula

So you guys know I’m a total geek, right?  No?  It’s true: I love science fiction and fantasy (SF exploring gender/feminism and/or first contact are my fave, but I also love utopia/dystopia!).  I love animation, comic books (Saga is absolutely blowing my mind lately), Doctor Who, Sherlock, Firefly, Marvel movies, Star Wars, fanfiction, video games, etc.  I’ve been to SF conventions, SF/Linux conventions, Sherlock conventions, etc.  I love nerdiness, fandom, and the unabashed willingness to be enthusiastic about things that I find fun/cool/interesting.

So, of course, it spills over into my clothing choice on occasion.  I’ve been trying to figure out ways to include some of my nerdier T-shirts in outfits are a little more than just jeans + tee.

So here’s my formula for today: T-shirt + skirt + boots. + geek. 😉

image

Last month’s Day 11 outfit (one of my faves from last month!)

[Sidenote: Are you guys as sick of these boots as I am?  Don’t get me wrong, I freaking love these boots (so comfortable).  But I’m ready for some variety.  Saturday (and two new pairs of shoes!) canNOT come soon enough!  It’s really cold here today, so it was either these boots or pants, and I didn’t feel like pants with this t-shirt.]

But this shirt!  I love Totoro.  When I watched it with my boys for the first time about two years ago, I couldn’t believe how I’d lived that long without it!  Such a good film, just pure magic.  If you haven’t seen it, do yourself a favor and get your hands on a copy!  Libraries often carry it, it’s really popular with kids (there are no bad guys or scary parts).

Do you have a favorite Miyazaki film?  I’m also partial to Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle!

Shirt: TeeFury (available now via RedBubble), Skirt: Merona (via Goodwill), Boots: Merrell, Necklace: thrifted

Linking Up:
I Feel Pretty (Get Your Pretty On)
Style Me Wednesday (Shopping My Closet)
Beautiful You (Style Honestly & Feel Great Fashion)

5 thoughts on “Take Two, Day 11: Fandom Formula

  1. mtsedwards says:

    Castle in the Sky and Kiki are faves of mine. Love that tee and the way you styled it. I’m all about juxtaposition in fashion – just makes things more interesting, ya know? And you absolutely have to showcase your boots ocne you get them. Of course, I have a vested interest in them since I led you to the promised land of boots, so I do hope they work out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I promise not to curse you if the boots don’t work out! It is my first foray into online shoe buying, so mistakes will be made, and they will probably me mine (in sizing. I’m usually 8.5 but sometimes 9 depending). But I’m soooo excited for Saturday! 😀

      Can you believe I don’t think I’ve seen Castle in the Sky?! Must remedy immediately! Kiki is so good. I wish we owned it, I think I’ve only seen it once (and there is usually like a 3 month wait for it at the library – it is well loved!)

      Like

      • mtsedwards says:

        Are any of the Miyazaki movies available to stream? Must investigate Amazon and/or Netflix.

        I forgive you for not seeing Castle in the Sky; it’s a pretty obscure one and I was only able to access it because of some questionable contacts I made during my foray into the underbelly of otaku-land in my early twenties. I go in and out of my anime obsession; am currently out because of my novel but can see myself going back in eventually. Glad it’s a lot more mainstream now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

