Take Two, Day 7: Waist, Defined

I’m running through the prompts of the #31days31waysremix a second time – I’m not done coming up with new outfits yet!

Day 7 Prompt: Define Your Waist

This is actually one of the bigger outfit tricks that I took away from the challenge the first time (even though I didn’t mention it on my 10 lessons that I learned – I thought of it after the fact!).  It’s a detail that I didn’t pay conscious attention to in the past, and it’s been interesting to make adjustments to old stand-by outfits with this in mind.  Here’s today’s deal:

image

So, I’ve had this dress since I was SEVENTEEN years old!  Yikes!  I usually make fun of my  husband for having clothes that old, but apparently I am not immune myself.  It’s a gold slip dress layered under a layer of black chiffon, and I looove it.  It has a tie in the back, which allows me to – you guessed it! – define my waist, and I love that it’s sleeveless because I run warm.  It was actually a great outfit for today, because it was sunny and warm and gorgeous one minute and then chillier the next, so layers were my friend (as were sunglasses).  I got a ton of compliments on the dress at our homeschool co-op, so I guess I’m not the only one who likes it – yay! 🙂

I’m not sure what’s going on with my expression in the last photo, but I thought it was kind of hilariously full of attitude, so I decided to include it. 😉

Also: stripes and polka-dots – flexing my pattern mixing muscles, again!

Last month’s Day 7 look

Dress: Impressions (ancient), Cardigan: Charter Club (thrifted, similar), Scarf: Old Navy (sold out), Striped Leggings: Old Navy (sold out), Boots: Merrell

4 thoughts on “Take Two, Day 7: Waist, Defined

Leave a Reply

