Day 16: Patterns Mixed

Day 16 of the #31days31waysremix, and the prompt is to try out pattern mixing.

Oh. Em. Gee.  You guys, pattern mixing is my nemesis!

So here’s the problem: I really don’t own that many patterns.  And I really really really don’t own that many bottoms that have a pattern.  Really really.  So THAT’S a hole in my wardrobe to remedy!

I tried on 1 zillion outfits for this.  Ok, maybe only like 20.  But dang, that’s a lot of outfits!  Here’s what I came up with.

Outfit 1 (day 16)

Of all the prints I mixed, these are my favorite together.  But, wow, that striped shirt makes me look really boobalicious!  There’s also the fact that that is not a skirt – it’s a dress.  And since it’s a dress, it’s a lil’ lumpy on the top half.  I liked this look, but I didn’t love it.

Shirt: Julie’s Closet (free), Dress: Charter Club (thrifted), Shoes: Lower East Side (soooo old), Black braided belt: thrifted

Outfit 2 (day 16)

I was having lighting issues here, so apologies for the weird.  This is a pink and white striped button-down with the same skirt (dress) as outfit 1.  Again, it was okay.  But the button-down is pretty sheer and you could really see the dress underneath the shirt, which irritated me.  Next!

Shirt: J. Crew (thrifted), Dress: Charter Club (thrifted), Shoes: Lower East Side (soooo old), Black braided belt: thrifted

Outfit 3 (day 16)

Okay, so I predict this will be the most popular of the four outfits that I actually photographed.  I really do like this outfit – it’s cute, and the colors are neutral, which keeps me from looking a little nuts.  But you guys – it’s fancy.  And let’s be real: I’m a stay-at-home mom! I would wear this out on a date night for sure. But for just hanging around the house (which is what’s happening today), I just could not keep this on. Back to the drawing board!

Polka-Dot Shirt: No label (thrifted), Pleated Skirt: Ann Taylor Loft (thrifted), Shoes: Lower East Side (soooo old), Black belt: Target

image

Ahhhhhhh.  Okay, so I realize these colors are NOT subtle. 😉  But, guys, of all the outfits I tried on, this is the one I felt most “me” in.  The cardigan kind of tempers the colors a bit, though it’s a bit shapeless. (But isn’t that flower pin adorable?  My eight-year-old made it for me for Mother’s Day last year! Swoon.)

outfit 4, pic 2 (day 16)

Without the cardi. I feel a little exposed without it, but it’s fairly realistic of how I would spend the majority of the day.

Teal Striped Shirt: Gap (thrifted), Plaid skinnies: Mossimo (thrifted), Black caridgan: Kimchi & Blue, Shoes: Lower East Side (soooo old)

That’s it! It was a very educational experience, this whole pattern mixing thing. It clearly did not come naturally to me, but it’ll be something that I keep learning about in the future (particularly if/when I get some more patterns for my bottom-half!)

Which one do you like the best?  I’m curious what you guys think! 

2 thoughts on “Day 16: Patterns Mixed

Leave a Reply

