31 Days, 31 Ways: Day 4

It’s Day 4 of the #31days31waysremix hosted by Caitlin at Greater than Rubies – and the prompt is to mix color families.

Huh? Huh. Color families. Not a thing I think about too often. I mean, I have an intuitive sense of what colors go with other colors, but I honestly had to do a bit of thinking about this. Do I even own different color families?

Oh okay. So I do have a LOT of neutrals and a LOT of jewel tones. Those are apparently my jam – who knew?  This is good information to have! And I also have other colors sprinkled in, too – like my pastel pink striped button down that I wore on Day 3.

So here’s what I came up with.

It was a gorgeous day at my mom and dad's house!  I love October.

It was a gorgeous day at my mom and dad’s house! I love October.

31days31ways day 4

Cardigan: 89th & Madison (Fred Meyer’s, over a year ago)  Gingham button-down: Hollister (similar, mine was thrifted at Goodwill)  Gold Stripe Tank: Merona (thrifted at Goodwill) Pixie Ankle Pants: Old Navy   Boots: Merrell Captiva  Cartouche Necklace: a gift from my mom 🙂

This outfit was slightly more…formal?  than I would usually wear, but I was trying to do something other than just jeans (or black) and jewel tones, which is not out of the ordinary for me at all.  So the caramel pants were the color stretch for me with this outfit.  But I liked it! The layering was great, since we’re in the weird season here in the PNW where it’s really quite cool in the morning but might hit 75 or 80 by 5 p.m.  So layers are my friend.

And layers also come in handy when you dribble coffee down your button-up shirt – my tank was there to save the day. I may say I can’t wear any white because of my kids (which is not totally UNtrue), but the real reason:  I’m a klutz. Thank goodness for stain removers!

Also linking back to The Lovely Lookbook: Fall Colors, hosted by Greater Than Rubies and Tucker Up!

2 thoughts on “31 Days, 31 Ways: Day 4

Leave a Reply

