31 Days, 31 Ways: Day 3

It’s Day 3 of the #31days31waysremix hosted by Caitlin at Greater than Rubies – and the prompt is Celebrity Inspiration.

EEEEEEEEEEEK!

That was my reaction to this prompt.  Because, weirdly enough, celebrity style (good or bad!) is not something that’s on my radar AT ALL.  I have actors, musicians and writers that I admire…but the style thing I guess has been a blind spot to me.  Kind of telling, actually.  So I had to go on a hunt!

My first swing was to check out Scarlett Johansson on Pinterest.  (Funny side note: when I told my husband about this prompt and how at a loss I was, he said – without any prompting – Scarlett Johansson, then?  Ha!  Great minds).  And though I pinned a few ScarJo outfits that I thought maybe I could be inspired by, the truth is, she’s a little too polished for my taste.  Fabulous and talented, no doubt!  But not my muse for this.

I’m not even sure how I wound up on Keri Russell – possibly even through a “People also pinned…” pin, but I found her and wow, I thought, Yep, she’s my girl!  I love how she does casual – put together without being sloppy at all, but also not overproduced, for lack of a better word.  I like how she mixes masculine and feminine pieces together.  And the woman loves a good scarf, and boy howdy, so do I!

So with a BUNCH of Keri Russell pinspiration, I set out to excavate an inspired outfit out of my closet.  It actually came together pretty quickly!

The Seattle sun inexplicably erased my face! ;)

The Seattle sun inexplicably erased my face! 😉

Top to bottom :)

Top to bottom 🙂

The Halloween decor really makes the outfit pop! ;)

The Halloween decor really makes the outfit pop! 😉

This was one second after my iPad fell over while I was doing a timer selfie! Haha!

This was one second after my iPad fell over while I was doing a timer selfie! Haha!

Button down shirt: J Crew (thrifted) — Velour blazer (thrifted) — Levi’s Straight Leg Jeans (thrifted) — Mary Jane shoes (over 10 years old – and I’ve worn off the label, sorry!)

So I was pretty happy with this outfit, actually!  I’ve owned all the pieces FOREVER, except for the pink-stripe button-down – I just picked that up at Goodwill a few weeks ago.  It’s a brave new world, button downs!  I haven’t owned one in YEARS.  And I don’t do a lot of pastels.  Like…ever.  But I really liked the masculine style shirt, blazer and cuffed boyfriend jeans paired with feminine jewelry (um, I haven’t worn earrings since probably before I had kids!), girly shoes, and a messy bun.

Contrasts: I like ’em.

Also: it was not lost on me that this outfit could have also won the cuffed contest (particularly since my shirt was  cuffed, too!).  Extra credit? 😉

3 thoughts on “31 Days, 31 Ways: Day 3

Leave a Reply

